Often times we search for happiness in the wrong places and the wrong things.

2011 was the year, it was a lovely year, the second semester of my first year in the university. Something was in the air, everyone was talking about it, everyone was dreaming about it. What was this thing you might ask? No it wasn’t love neither was it the flu, it was something else. It was the BlackBerry, a product by RIM (Research in Motion) with a range of products: the BlackBerry Bold, BlackBerry curve, BlackBerry Torch and it was driving everyone “gaga” including me.

Everyone had to get one – me inclusive. I convinced myself I wasn’t getting it because everyone was getting one but for the reasons that I needed instant access to the internet and services which BlackBerry offered, the star of which was the BlackBerry Messenger (BBM). No one was collecting numbers anymore as it was now the BlackBerry PIN. Some folks wouldn’t even talk to you if you didn’t have a BlackBerry phone.

People who could steal stole, people who could scam scammed, people who could sell their bodies sold their bodies. They just had to get the BlackBerry, I couldn’t steal nor could I scam or sell my body (wasn’t even an option). There was however something that I could do that I did. I could save. I drew up my saving plan, the right amount of money to spend daily to save substantial sum of money without having to starve. I knew guys that starved though.

The period before I got the famed phone I dreamt about it. I read articles on tips and tricks on using a BlackBerry, in fact I knew more about the BlackBerry than most people who had the phone. I dreamt of holding my own BlackBerry and pinging (sad right?), I believed I would be happy once I got my very own BlackBerry.

In months to come, I had saved enough money to buy one, I got a second-hand BlackBerry, a Curve 3 with track pad, new OS and a finer design than the curve 2. I could say I was truly happy, finally I could ping. I updated my Facebook status with my new pin and sent out messages to my other friends. Yes I could now ping!! I didn’t sleep that night, how could I sleep when I was busy setting up my new phone, downloading wallpapers, songs, themes etc.

Some months later my joy had faded, the sounds of the message tone was annoying, every minute PING!!! PING!!!! PING!!!! No time for myself, always pinging, no time for my studies and the battery didn’t last beyond a day. I thought I would be happy when I got my new phone I was so wrong. Instead it gave me more headaches because towards months’ end I had to start saving for BIS subscription.

Where am I going with this? In the pursuit of happiness most of us put our happiness in material things, we tell ourselves “when I get this money I will be happy”, “when I get that new shoe I’ll be happy”, “when I get that ‘bae’ I’ll be happy“. If happiness could be measured by these, then how come lots of people with relationships, the rich with loads of friends still aren’t happy?  I would like to point out that happiness isn’t in material or from persons.

take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart

The problem is we search for happiness in the wrong places, wrong things and with the wrong people. The only way to get true and lasting happiness is with none other than with God Psalm 144:15; “Happy is that people, that is in such a case: yea, happy is that people, whose God is the Lord”. Also Psalms 37:4; “take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

If you have God you would have happiness, it’s as simple as that. You’d be filled and satisfied. Everything that you might seek would come to you: the money, the fame, the recognition. The bible tells us in Psalms 16:11; “You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore

Only God can provide you all these and you can only have God when you believe his son died for you and that only through Jesus can you reach God. God wants us to be happy, Our happiness is important to him. The Bible say in Matthew 6:33-34; “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”

Take therefore no thought for the morrow

God wants us to be happy at all times, Jeremiah 29:11; “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” When we know God, when we fellowship with Him and have good knowledge of Him and His spirit dwells in us, then and only then would we be truly happy. Happiness outside God isn’t true happiness but pseudo-happiness. It has worked for me and I believe it will work for you too.

My dear amazing reader, if you made it this far I congratulate you for you have come to the end of this post. I would really love if you support my hard work by helping to like this post and sharing with your friends.You never could tell who might need this, kindly share don’t break the chain. I would love very much to hear from, please you leave a feedback in the comments section. Thank you.

Written by Oluwasesan Miller 

Edited by Victory Odunjo and Olusegun Sobanjo

Oluwasesan Miller can be reached
By mail : sesanmiller@gmail.com
On Twitter : @scmill3r

