Diary Entry 2:

From my last entry I told you about my walk down the dusty, turmoilous and dreadful road if you missed that click here . Growing up, I never expected or hoped to want a life in medicine and this told on my grades in high school. I was a great underachiever in High school till my final year when everyone started to choose a career path. My father God bless is soul was shocked and happy to hear that I wanted a career in medicine. He actually hoped that I would chase a life in IT or engineering due to my history of wanting to know how things worked.

Sure I admired doctors and the life they lived, the respect and trust patients had in them. So while filling my jamb form I chose Medicine and Surgery. I also realized that to be a doctor you had to have high grades so I put in effort into my studies and started scoring high, especially in biology and physics. So when I wrote my jamb I had a pretty good score.

They often say man proposes but God disposes. When admissions season came by and I anticipated my admissions I was saddened to see “sorry no admissions given yet“. My heart sank I was offered Zoology however in my second choice University, Bowen University.

My first semester in Bowen was a time I wished daily I could go back to and correct. I didn’t want to study zoology, so I kept telling everyone who cared to listen that I was going to crossover to medical faculty by my second year. I never backed it up with effort, I was doing badly in my tests and C.As. By the time we wrote exams and the first semester gpa came out, any hopes I had in crossing into medicine was crushed. To get into faculty of medicine one of the major prerequisite was a first class gpa of 4.5 and above. I was borderline second class lower, at the board where I went to check my gpa, I felt my world slow down. I became oblivious of the surroundings, the rejoicing of people at their successes drove me crazy. I was too ashamed to look into the face of the people I had boasted at, I wished countless times that the ground would just open up and swallow me.

I was totally knocked down, I was humbled, I lost face, lost my voice, almost lost interest in everything. I stopped seeing myself achieving the dream I had for myself, I felt like I didn’t have what it took. I had been hit hard with the hammer of truth.
To be continued……

If you liked this, like the post, share with your friends as we never can tell who this post might reach and it would help.. Also would really love to hear your feedback.

Thank you.

