In the beginning there was a young man, all he had was dreams and aspirations. When he had to face life, he realized that dreams weren’t enough. That was my story, the story of my journey down a dusty road riddled with thorns and stumps.

The Igbo people have an adage which says “If a man can’t tell where the rain started to beat him, he wouldn’t be able to tell where he started to get dry”. So my story goes, to properly understand this journey. I would like to invite you to join me on a brief stroll down memory lane.

A few years ago in the early 90s I was born to Mr and Mrs Philip Miller, an odd couple as they were on opposite sides of the ethnic road. My father from the Yoruba side, while my mother hailed from the Igbo side. Tales of their meeting is a story for another day. I was almost born on the 10th of November but I had a change of heart and decided to arrive in the early hours of November 11th. Growing up, I was always a guest at the hospital waiting room, from pneumonia to typhoid to measles (which was more frequent). Other than that, it’s pretty much save to say that my childhood was basic.

Fast forward a few years I was in my final days of primary school, I fell ill. I was taken to see a doctor, where I was diagnosed with Mango malaria… yeah weird right. Looking back I can say that it was during the history taking, to find the probable cause of illness that the mistake occurred. I used to play a lot under a mango tree in front of my house, so I guess that made the doctor say I had mango malaria. I was given drugs and taken home, a week later and my symptoms were worse off indigenous medical was employed.

That too yielded nothing but a bitter tongue and unpleasant baths in stinky leaves. I was eventually taken to another hospital where upon testing, I was diagnosed with malaria typhoid. You might think that was my defining moment, well it wasn’t. Some might say my defining moment was in my JSS3 after the Junior Secondary School Certificate Exams, I was opportuned to read “Gifted Hands” by Ben Carson. It was then I began to fall in love with medicine as a career. Before that time, I had wanted to be an astronaut because of the whole love for space and intergalactic domination. I guess that was a child’s dream.

To be continued….

