“What does it mean to be tried by fire?” I asked myself, how exactly does one get tried by fire? There are a lot of things that would happen in the lives of man that would make a man wonder the cause for his existence. There are times a Christian would go through some things that would make him/her question God such as the death of a loved one, the loss of jobs, failure of businesses, strive etc. People would then ask, “Where is your God?” or “has he forsaken you?” I was wondering this today and decided to look for answers and I was pointed in the direction of James 1:12- blessed is a man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive a crown of life which the lord hath promised to them that love him. I was confused and kept asking myself what it means to be tried. Does it mean that a man would be taken to a court of law and asked to face a judge? I sought more explanation and was led to another bible verse, Zechariah 13:9 – and I will bring the third part through the fire and would refine them as silver is refined, and will try them as gold is tried; they shall call on my name and I will hear them: I will say, it is my people: and they shall say, The LORD is my God.
These verses made it clear to me that trials and temptations would come, God said He would refine us like silver and try us like gold is tried. Brushing up on my chemistry the process of refining silver, of all the processes I saw for refining silver, there was none that seemed pleasant. The refining either involved subjection of the precursors to high heat, reacting with other elements in unfavourable conditions but the end product after being polished is adored by all. The same also with gold having to undergo high temperatures before it can be refined. So also we in life would undergo trials, that would seem unbearable but we have a promise from God in 1 Corinthians 10:13- there hath no temptation taken you but such as in common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape that ye may be able to bear it. So that’s the promise that we should try to hold on to HIM through life’s trials. Many have been tried and succeeded so they were lifted high, in the bible Joseph went through hardship, he was sold to slavery, locked in jail but he held on to God and he was rewarded. Job also went through immense trials, losing everything he had his children, properties sores were visited upon him yet he held on to God and in the end he had returned to him all he lost in seven folds.
In life’s trials it would look hard, your faith would waiver how then is one expected to survive? Isaiah 40:31- but they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up wings as eagles: they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk and not faint. There we have it if we can wait upon the LORD, our strength shall be renewed and we wait upon the LORD by praising HIM, praying to HIM and studying HIS Word. Seeing as one has to know God to survive life’s trials, how does one intend to survive the trials if one doesn’t know God? That is what I have for you today, enjoy waiting on the LORD.

